Lee Sooman Announces Supergroup’s Debut And Name: SuperM

It’s really happening, everyone!

During Capitol Music Group’s (CMG’s) sixth annual Capitol Congress in Hollywood on August 7, the founder of SM Entertainment Lee Sooman officially announced the debut of the new “supergroup” called SuperM.

The new seven-member boy group will be comprised of SHINee’s Taemin, EXO’s Baekhyun and Kai, NCT 127’s Taeyong and Mark, and WayV’s Lucas and Ten. They have been introduced as “the Avengers of K-pop”. SuperM is produced by Lee Sooman himself on request of the global label CMG, and they are planned to debut some time in October 2019 and promote both in Korea and the United States. Capitol Records promises “massive marketing, promotion and publicity campaigns” for their U.S. debut.

The letter M in SuperM stands for Matrix & Master: “seven members team up to bring the Super energy to global fans.” For future updates on the group, make sure to follow their Instagram and Twitter accounts as well as visit their official website. Check out this short video preview shown last night in L.A.:

Fan opinion seems to be divided, with some being excited for the new supergroup and others refusing to support the members outside of their original groups. In any case, within hours of the announcement of their debut, SuperM was trending No. 1 worldwide on Twitter.

What do you think? Are you looking forward to SuperM’s debut? Will you support them or not? Let us know in the comments!

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x